Navalny's Campaign 2018. How it was

​This is the website of Navalny's campaign, which spanned between December 2016 and March 2018 and became the most notable political event in modern Russia. Since the day Alexey Navalny announce that he is ready to run for president, a lot has happened: headquarters opening across the country, protest rallies gathering thousands of people, dozens of meetings with voters in different cities. A brief chronicle of these events can be found here.

The campaign had many important consequences. It set out new standards of political work. It returned politics to the regions. It once again focused everyone's attention on the key problems of our country: inequality, injustice, corruption.

This campaign has also shown that there are lots of brave, honest and caring people in Russia. We thank everyone who has been supporting us for these one and a half years. Together, we will certainly build the Beautiful Russia of the Future.

Volunteers

199 836

Days

460

Headquarters

81

Campaign history

13 December 2016

Alexey Navalny announced that he intends to participate in the 2018 Russian presidential elections.

4 February 2017

The first headquarters of Navalny's presidential campaign opened in Saint Petersburg. In total, 81 HQs opened during the campaign across the whole country— from St. Petersburg to Komsomolsk-on-Amur. Alexey made its best to visit each of the HQs — he organized meetings with volunteers and held press conferences.

One of the key tasks of the HQS was gathering signatures in support of Navalny's nomination. According to the law, he needed to gather 300 000 signatures in total, but no more than 7500 in each region. To make this process easier, we created a website for preliminary registration — it allowed us to monitor the progress in all regions. It also allowed the supporters to register in advance for a time suitable for them and come to the headquarters at that time to leave their signature.

Campaign map

Move the card with two fingers on the touchscreen

Headquarters

81

Peoples headquarters

11

Volunteers

199 836

Headquarters

81

Peoples headquarters

11

Volunteers

199 836

Moscow
26 March 2017

After the release of «Don't call him Dimon», anti-corruption rallies took place all across Russia. People demanded the prime minister to respond to the accusations made in the investigation. This protest was the largest in many years: not only Moscow and St. Petersburg, but also the regions were involved. People in 82 cities went out on the streets. The livestream of the rallies on the «Navalny LIVE» channel was watched by over 4 million people.

David Frenkel / Mediazona

During the livestream, police came to our office. Employees responsible for the livestream were arrested, the building was sealed, and most of the equipment was taken from the studio. But that didn't stop the campaign or the channel's work.

15 April 2017

We launched the «+1» campaign: we asked each of our supporters to convince at least one other person to register on the website. At it brought results: we hadn't seen such a spike in new registrations even after the release of «Dimon».

Over the course of the presidential campaign, a total of over 700 thousand people had confirmed that they were ready to leave a signature in support of Alexey Navalny's nomination. All these are active supporters who were not afraid to leave their personal data on the website and promised to cone to the headquarters at the arranged time. Over 200 thousand people also signed up to be volunteers.

20 April 2017

The first issue of the weekly show «Navalny at 20:18» was released on «Navalny LIVE» channel. In this show, Alexey answers the viewer's questions and discusses the recent events in a live broadcast.

27 April 2017

Navalny was assaulted near the ACF office: somebody splashed a mixture of acid and brilliant green dye into his face. Despite having his eye burned, Alexey appeared on «Navalny at 20:18» in a few hours, as he had planned.

This was the second assault involving brilliant green: it was first splashed into Navalny's face in Barnaul, before the opening of the local headquarters. This time, however, the injuries were more serious — an operation was required. This didn't affect the campaign, however. It continued, despite constant counteractions, searches in the HQs, unlawful arrests of the employees and pressure on coordinators and volunteers.

Over the span of one and a half years, the people who worked on the campaign or supported it as volunteers have spent a total of 3080 days under arrest and paid 18 952 358 rubles of fines. Campaign chief Leonid Volkov has spent the longest time under arrest — 95 days in total.

12 June 2017

Dmitry Medvedev still didn't give any clear answers to the questions raised in the investigation, so a new wave of anti-corruption protests hit Russia. This time, people in 154 cities went out on the streets.

8-9 July 2017

Agitation work parties took place in 60 cities: on these days, the HQs mobilized all their volunteers to hand out flyers and newspapers about Navalny's campaign. Millions of agitation materials were printed by the federal headquarters for this event. The authorities tried to counteract: newspapers and flyers were being confiscated from HQs, volunteers were being arrested by the police. But despite all that, the work party was a success.

5 August 2017

We launched the verification in the HQs: we started to collect and check in advance the personal data of those who expressed their readiness to leave their signature in support of Navalny's nomination. This procedure was needed so that we would be able to quickly collect 300 000 perfect signatures when the time comes. The law only gave us three weeks for that. Keep in mind that the collection of signatures is a complicated bureaucratic procedure designed to act as an obstacle for independent candidates. To complete everything on time and comply with all requirements, we've done a huge work — you can read a detailed report about the technical side of it here.

29 August 2017

Shtaibicon took place in a boarding house near Moscow — a training event for the coordinators of regional HQs. It was attended not only by coordinators, but by other employees as well — over 150 people from 76 HQs across the country. Over two days, they were sharing their experience, attending lectures and seminars.

15 September 2017

Navalny's autumn-winter tour started. During it, he's visited 29 cities. During the meetings, Alexey talked about the key problems concerning local citizens. In many regions, these meetings became the largest political events in a long time. In total, Navalny has conducted more meetings within a year than any of the registered candidates during their official election campaigns. Keep in mind that in 2017, he's spent a total of 60 days under unlawful arrest.

13 December 2017

Alexey Navalny published his campaign platform. It includes a detailed list of suggested reforms, as well as stories of people whose lives can be improved by these reforems. The main directions of the platform are: fight against corruption, decrease of inequality and increase of minimal wage, assistance in purchase of housing and decrease of mortgage rate, increase of medicine and healthcare spending, simplification of business operation and decrease of taxes for small business owners, deregulation and red tape reduction, redistribution of money and authority in favor of the regions.

24 December 2017

A gathering of voters who voted in favor of Alexey Navalny's nomination took place in Moscow. According to the law, the candidate needs to gather at least 500 people who will vote in favor of his nomination in the presence of representatives from the Central Election Commission. All venues in Moscow refused to host us, so we conducted the gathering in a specially constructed pavilion in Serebryany Bor.

Similar gatherings took place in 19 more cities. In total, over 15 000 people have voted in favor of Alexey Navalny's nomination. For the first time were the gatherings for candidate nomination so public and massive.

The same evening, all documents were submitted to the CEC (The Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation) by the HQ lawyers.

25 December 2017

The CEC refused to register Navalny as a presidential candidate on the ground of his prior conviction for the fabricated «Kirovles case». Alexey delivered a speech, in which he rejected the arguments of the CEC.

In response to the non-admission, the HQ declared a voter strike — an act of protests against the elections the only independent candidate wasn't admitted to. Its main goals were degreasing the turnout rate and preparing observers.

28 January 2018

Protest took place all across Russia as a part of the voter strike. «Navalny LIVE» channel hosted a livestream of these protests. The same day, the first newscast came out on the channel. The newscasts became daily after this.

One of the newscasts was interrupted by the police: the door to the studio was sawn out, and the hosts were arrested. However, the actual livestream was conducted from a backup studio, and, despite all their efforts, the authorities were unable to interrupt it.

18 March 2018

On the day of the elections, Navalny's HQ conducted a live stream — at the peak, it was being watched by 100 000 people at the same time. During the strike, we prepared over 30 000 observers who counted the real turnout and monitored violations at the voting stations. These observations were being reflected on the interactive map.

According to our counts, the final turnout rate was 60%. Thanks to the observers, we managed to spot a large number of violations and prove that at least 10 million votes for Putin were thrown in.

Observers
sent

33 214

Turnout at the stations*
according to the HQ

55%

Turnout at the stations*
according to the CEC

62,4%

Move the card with two fingers on the touchscreen

Turnout percentage by region

< 30%
31–43%
44–56%
57–69%
> 70%
Insufficient data due to mass removal of observers Insufficient data due to mass removal of observers
Insufficient data Insufficient data
*Not including those who voted at home (4.6% according to the CEC)
April 2018

We published the final financial report of the campaign. Over one and a half years, we have gathered almost 368 million rubles. This is an unprecedented amount for Russian politics. We have surpassed the previous record by over 3.5 times — 103 million rubles were gathered for Navalny's mayoral campaign in 2013.

The main expenditure item were the salaries: over 153 million rubles was spent on them. At the peak, in December 2017, our HQs had a total of over 350 paid employees.

The second biggest expenditure item are the regional HQs. Each headquarters cost us around 1.2 million rubles for the entire duration of the campaign.

In third place is the political work: online and offline agitation, mass events (the autumn tour was the most expensive of them), livestreams and channel development.

The median payment amount during the entire campaign was 500 rubles, and the average amount was around 1500 rubles. In total, we have received around 250 thousand payments from over 100 thousand unique donators.

What next?

Over these one and a half years, we have achieved a lot. We've returned politics to the regions and proven that not only those living in the center of Moscow, but the entire Russia is against poverty, corruption and injustice.

The campaign is over, but our work continues. We've created a network of HQs across the whole country. They will continue to conduct political activities, fight for your and our rights and keep the government on the hop.

Join us.

Donate

Кампания Навального 2018. Как это было

​Это сайт кампании Навального, которая продолжалась с декабря 2016 года по март 2018-го и стала самым заметным политическим событием в современной России. С тех пор как Алексей Навальный объявил, что готов выдвинуться в президенты, случилось очень многое: открытия штабов по всей стране, многотысячные протестные митинги, десятки встреч с избирателями в разных городах. Краткая хроника того, как это было, приведена здесь.

У кампании было много важных следствий. Она задала новые стандарты политической работы. Она вернула политику в регионы. Она снова сфокусировала всеобщее внимание на ключевых проблемах нашей страны: неравенстве, несправедливости, коррупции.

А ещё эта кампания показала, что в России очень много смелых, честных, неравнодушных людей. Спасибо всем, кто нас поддерживал все эти полтора года. Вместе с вами мы обязательно построим Прекрасную Россию Будущего.

Волонтëров

199 836

Дней

460

Штабов

81

История кампании

13 декабря 2016

Алексей Навальный объявил, что собирается принять участие в выборах президента России в 2018 году.

4 февраля 2017

Открылся первый штаб президентской кампании Навального — в Санкт-Петербурге. Всего за время кампании мы открыли 81 штаб по всей стране, от Калининграда до Комсомольска-на-Амуре. Алексей старался приехать в каждый штаб — он встречался с волонтёрами и проводил пресс-конференции.

Одной из ключевых задач штабов должен был стать сбор подписей в поддержку выдвижения Навального. По закону ему необходимо было собрать 300 000 подписей, не более 7500 в каждом регионе. Чтобы упростить этот процесс, мы сделали сайт с предварительной регистрацией — это позволило нам видеть картину по всем регионам. А сторонникам регистрация давала возможность в нужный момент прийти в штаб и поставить подпись, записавшись перед этим на удобное время.

Карта кампании

Перемещайте карту двумя пальцами на серсорных экранах

Штабов

81

Народных штабов

11

Волонтëров

199 836

Штабов

81

Народных штабов

11

Волонтëров

199 836

Москва
26 марта 2017

После публикации фильма «Он вам не Димон» по всей России прошли антикоррупционные митинги. Люди требовали у премьер-министра ответов на обвинения, предъявленные в расследовании. Эта протестная акция стала самой масштабной за много лет: она охватила не только Москву и Петербург, но и регионы. На улицы вышли жители 82 городов. Прямую трансляцию митингов на канале «Навальный LIVE» посмотрело более 4 миллионов человек.

Давид Френкель / Медиазона

Во время трансляции в наш офис пришла полиция. Сотрудников, отвечавших за эфир, задержали, здание опечатали, из студии вынесли технику. Однако это не остановило ни кампанию, ни работу канала.

15 апреля 2017

Мы запустили кампанию «+1»: призвали каждого нашего сторонника убедить хотя бы одного знакомого зарегистрироваться на сайте. И это принесло плоды: такого скачка регистраций не было даже после публикации «Димона».

Всего же за время президентской кампании более 700 тысяч человек подтвердили, что готовы поставить подпись за выдвижение Алексея Навального. Всё это — активные сторонники, которые не побоялись оставить свои данные на сайте и обещали в назначенное время прийти в штаб. А в волонтёры записалось почти 200 тысяч человек.

20 апреля 2017

На канале «Навальный LIVE» вышел первый выпуск еженедельной передачи «Навальный в 20:18». В этой программе Алексей в прямом эфире отвечает на вопросы зрителей и обсуждает самые важные события последних дней.

27 апреля 2017

Около офиса ФБК на Навального было совершено нападение: ему плеснули в лицо зелёнкой с кислотой. Несмотря на ожог глаза, через несколько часов Алексей, как и планировал, появился в эфире передачи «Навальный в 20:18».

Это было уже второе нападение с зелёнкой: впервые Навальному выплеснули её в лицо в Барнауле, перед открытием штаба. Однако на этот раз последствия были более серьёзными — пришлось делать операцию. Но кампании это не помешало. Она продолжалась, несмотря на противодействие, несмотря на обыски в штабах, незаконные аресты сотрудников, давление на координаторов и волонтёров.

За полтора года люди, которые работали на кампании и поддерживали её как волонтёры, в общей сложности провели под арестом 3080 суток и выплатили 18 952 358 рублей штрафов. Глава предвыборного штаба Леонид Волков пробыл в заключении дольше всех — суммарно 95 суток.

12 июня 2017

Дмитрий Медведев так и не дал вразумительных ответов на вопросы, поднятые в расследовании, и по России прокатилась новая волна антикоррупционных митингов. На этот раз на улицы вышли жители 154 городов.

8-9 июля 2017

В 60 городах прошли агитационные субботники: на эти выходные штабы мобилизовали всех своих волонтёров, и те два дня подряд в ударном режиме раздавали листовки и газеты и рассказывали о кампании Навального. Федеральный штаб напечатал к субботнику миллионные тиражи агитматериалов. Нам пытались оказывать сопротивление: из штабов изымали газеты и листовки, волонтёров задерживала полиция. Но, несмотря на это, субботник прошёл успешно.

5 августа 2017

Мы запустили в штабах верификацию: начали заранее собирать и проверять паспортные данные тех, кто выразил готовность поставить подпись за выдвижение Навального. Эта процедура нужна была затем, чтобы, когда придёт время, в короткий срок собрать 300 000 идеальных подписей. Закон отводил нам на сбор менее трёх недель. При этом сбор подписей — невероятно сложная бюрократическая процедура, на деле направленная на то, чтобы создать барьер для независимых кандидатов. Чтобы всё успеть и учесть все требования, мы проделали огромную работу — подробный отчёт о технической стороне дела можно почитать здесь.

5 сентября 2017

В пансионате под Москвой прошел Штабикон — тренинг для координаторов региональных штабов. Туда приехали не только координаторы, но и другие сотрудники — всего более 150 человек из 76 штабов по всей стране. В течение двух дней они делились опытом, посещали лекции и семинары.

15 сентября 2017

Началось осенне-зимнее турне Навального, в ходе которого он объехал 29 городов. На встречах Алексей говорил о ключевых проблемах, волнующих местных жителей. Во многих регионах эти встречи стали самыми массовыми политическими мероприятиями за долгое время. Всего за год Навальный провёл столько встреч с избирателями, сколько не провёл ни один из зарегистрированных кандидатов во время официальной предвыборной кампании. И это при том, что в 2017 году он просидел под незаконным арестом в общей сложности 60 суток.

13 декабря 2017

Алексей Навальный опубликовал свою предвыборную программу. В ней подробно описаны предлагаемые реформы, а также приведены истории людей, жизнь которых эти реформы могут изменить к лучшему. Основные направления программы: борьба с коррупцией, снижение неравенства и повышение минимальной зарплаты, помощь в приобретении жилья и снижение ипотечной ставки, увеличение расходов на медицину и здравоохранение, упрощение ведения бизнеса и снижение налогов для малых предпринимателей, дерегуляция и дебюрократизация, перераспределение денег и полномочий в пользу регионов.

24 декабря 2017

В Москве прошло собрание избирателей, которые проголосовали за выдвижение Алексея Навального в президенты. По закону кандидату необходимо собрать не менее 500 человек, которые в присутствии представителей избирательной комиссии проголосуют за его выдвижение. В Москве все площадки нам отказывали, и в итоге мы провели собрание в специально возведённом павильоне в Серебряном Бору.

Такие же собрания состоялись еще в 19 городах. В общей сложности за выдвижение Алексея Навального проголосовало более 15 000 человек. Впервые собрания для выдвижения кандидата были такими массовыми и публичными.

Вечером юристы штаба подали документы в ЦИК.

25 декабря 2017

ЦИК отказал зарегистрировать Навального кандидатом в президенты, сославшись на судимость по сфабрикованному делу «Кировлеса». Алексей выступил с речью, в которой опроверг аргументы ЦИКа.

В ответ на недопуск штаб объявил забастовку избирателей — акцию протеста против выборов, к которым не допустили единственного независимого кандидата. Ее главными задачами стали снижение явки и подготовка наблюдателей.

28 января 2018

По всей России прошли протестные митинги в рамках забастовки избирателей. Прямая трансляция этих акций шла на канале «Навальный LIVE»; в тот же день на канале вышел первый выпуск новостей, которые стали ежедневными.

Эфир одного из новостных выпусков прервала полиция: дверь в студию выпилили болгаркой, и ведущие были арестованы. Однако трансляция митингов велась из резервной студии, и, несмотря на все усилия, её не удалось остановить.

18 марта 2018

В день голосования штаб Навального вёл прямую трансляцию — на пике её смотрело более 100 000 человек. За время забастовки мы подготовили более 30 000 наблюдателей, которые подсчитывали реальную явку и фиксировали нарушения на участках. Данные наблюдения отображались на интерактивной карте.

По нашим подсчётам, итоговая явка составила 60%. Благодаря наблюдателям нам удалось зафиксировать множество нарушений и доказать, что как минимум 10 миллионов голосов за Путина было вброшено.

Направлено
наблюдателей

33 214

Явка на участках*
по данным штаба

55%

Явка на участках*
по данным ЦИК

62,4%

Перемещайте карту двумя пальцами на сенсорных экранах

Процент явки по регионам

< 30%
31–43%
44–56%
57–69%
> 70%
Недостаточно данных из-за массового удаления наблюдателей Недостаточно данных из-за
массового удаления наблюдателей
Недостаточно данных Недостаточно данных
*Без учёта надомного голосования 4,6% (по данным ЦИК) Методология
Апрель 2018

Мы опубликовали финальный финансовый отчёт кампании. За полтора года мы собрали почти 368 миллионов рублей. Для российской политики это беспрецедентная сумма. Мы более чем в 3,5 раза превзошли прошлый рекорд — 103 миллиона рублей на мэрскую кампанию Навального в 2013 году.

Самой крупной статьёй расходов стали зарплаты: на них ушло больше 153 миллионов рублей. На пике, в декабре 2017 года, в наших штабах работало на платной основе более 350 человек.

Вторая по размеру статья расходов — региональные штабы. Каждый штаб в течение всей кампании обошёлся нам примерно в 1,2 миллиона рублей.

На третьем месте — политическая работа: агитация онлайн и оффлайн, массовые мероприятия (дороже всего оказалось осеннее турне), прямые трансляции и развитие видеоканалов.

Медианный платеж за время кампании составил 500 рублей, средний — в районе 1500 рублей. Всего платежей было в районе 250 тысяч, а количество уникальных жертвователей превысило 100 тысяч человек.

Что дальше?

За эти полтора года мы многого добились. Мы вернули политику в регионы и доказали, что не только Садовое кольцо, но и вся Россия против бедности, коррупции и несправедливости.

Кампания окончена, но наша работа продолжается. Мы создали и сохранили сеть штабов по всей стране. Они будут и дальше вести политическую деятельность, бороться за наши и ваши права и не давать властям покоя.

Присоединяйтесь.

Поддержать